I wish I were Hermione Granger

Today I’m here to talk to you about “crazy clothes”. Quite simply, my thesis when explaining why I dress ‘like that’ is: I get dressed, and everyone else makes it weird. In other words, I wear whatever I want and society is the one who decides if it’s weird or not, not me. I dress to put on a certain character, or to express my feelings. Some people like to make drawings, etc to express themselves- I do it through sculpture, and I like to have a body, usually mine, as the template to work with. I create 3D “art” (it sounds narcissistic, and I’m not saying I’m a fashion prodigy or artist or anything, but that’s how I see fashion in general) and I wear it around. I don’t do it  because I’m a show-off, or a hipster, or an exhibitionist. I don’t do anything just for attention. I try to make art, while at the same time expressing the message that we don’t all have to be the same. If I dress the way I do, and society puts the label “weird” on it, then it is weird. If society puts the label “normal” on it, then it is normal. Labels, however important to some people, never change the outfit or what it means to me.

Someone asked me if I would still dressed the way I do if everyone else did, too. I said yes. Then I thought about it later- I would never change myself drastically for society. I gave up makeup long ago, vowing to myself to never long to be pretty again. Whether something is “flattering” no longer determines if an outfit should be worn by me or not. However, I might make some changes, tweaks, to express my feelings about the pressure to all be the same. Be smart, be athletic, be creative, or don’t… but look like robots, or else you are an attention-seeker, a hipster, a bitch, or a weirdo. I would try to dress the way I wanted, but that message is worth putting on the extra bow for, don’t you think?

That’s it. What do you think? Do weird clothes exist? If everyone dressed just like you, would you change yourself to be different?

Wearing: Chinese hat with DIY eyes; DIY dino clip; outermost shirt- thrifted. Lace shirt- found in nattic (really old).  Yellow shirt- thrifted. Skirt- Orla Kiely. Tights- Target. Collar- cut off an old Halloween costume. Shoes- Docter Martens. Random pin.Just a better look at the hat/collar/etc details. The shirt used to have shoulder pads.

Pin: “Your 15 minutes are up.”

6 thoughts on “I wish I were Hermione Granger

  1. Pingback: 11. READ. LOOK. THINK. | Jessica Stanley.

  2. OH MY GOSH do you play the bass too? is it a half size? (my bass sense is skewed because I have a monster 7/8ths)
    I agree with you that society makes clothes weird, after all, thifted stuff was at least marginally acceptable in it’s time, but now it is deemed weird.

Whenever I get a comment, I become as happy as a lark blowing bubbles in the dark.

