Meadham Kitchoff

It looks like somebody just stuck the fashion turd, a few clowns, a cute white kitten, a few Lime Crime lipsticks, and Twiggy’s eyes into a blender, poured it all into model-shaped tins, and let it solidify. No? Must be Meadham Kitchoff’s new Spring 2012 RTW collection.

Featured on Rookie, Vouge.com and countless Tumblrs and fashion blogs, this unique and beautiful show is getting a lot of well-deserved attention. Maya Singer from style.com recalls that “[it] had a few showgoers shedding tears”. Somehow, the candy-colored display of clothing (not to mention hair and makeup, which were huge parts), which looked like mega-colorful vintage cartoons, was strangely touching. It ranged from bright solid colors to frilly lace pastels, from slender silhouettes to giant crinoline-like skirts. I even remember seeing one outfit (online, of course) that reminded me strangely of a baby doll, with a cape, “onesie” (not really) and bonnet.

Click the images to make them larger. What do you think? It’s making me want to get rainbow hair! In fact… stay tuned to see if I actually try to go through with something similar. Here’s the first image I found, which I think sums up the whole collection nicely.

PS: Go to Rookie (click the link in this post) and find the beautiful crowns!

 

3 thoughts on “Meadham Kitchoff

  1. This collection was amazing! I don’t follow fashion week so I’m really glad that it was crossposted to so many blogs, I would’ve hated missing out on this XD.

Whenever I get a comment, I become as happy as a lark blowing bubbles in the dark.

