Oh, I didn’t die- I should be satisfied

Today was day #3 of my fashion design and construction class at RISD. Yesterday we just watched some fashion shows (sadly, some were not new to me. I should stop checking style.com so much and it won’t happen! :( ) and decorated our portfolios with fashion magazines. Not much, but it was day one. Then we learned the proper way to sketch models when drawing clothing on them and we were assigned themes to design outfits for, which was harder. Today we brought in a piece of clothing and basically maimed it and tommorow we’re putting it back together and then making an exact copy with different fabric! Eee! I don’t have a sewing machine yet and this is going to be refreshing!

I also made a few things today, including fishnet/lace armwarmers, a tulle cuff of sorts, and a bouquet of plastic wristbands made into a pin.

I also jumped back into the blogosphere. My viewers had gone down by 70% while I was at camp and I started to reconnect with some people and read some more blogs. My daily reads are usually Tavi, Self-Constructed-Freak, Quirky Explosion, and A Witch’s Style, but now I’m starting to read more than that. Eep, I’m gonna need a bigger blogroll!

Unknown, unknown but of Jeff Tweedy, Tavi, FRUiTs, Paper or Plastic?, me (work in progress), and me.

I finally organized my closet, too. The following picture of Narnia doesn’t even include my dresser drawers. I never realized how many clothes I had! Most are actually hand-me-downed from my mom or bought in China straight out of the factory for ubercheap, but STILLL.

Now, to make this post even longer  more exciting, here are a few pictures I liked especially from style.com today. It’s fall couture! The first two are from Valentino, I think (please correct me if I’m wrong, my memory is like that of an old man’s goldfish) and the rest are Chanel.

 The best part are those lace/tulle masks/eye-veil-thingos. I actually tried to make a purple on today until I realized it wouldn’t work with my glasses or my bangs. The third picture with the white boots reminded me of Chanel’s resort 2012 collection, except, If I remember, those had flip-flop toes and thinner heels.

Ugh, I just started to write about Alexander MQ’s show but then I remembered I already did a post about it (https://therubylotus.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/glittery-evil-ice-queen/) so I had to go deletedeletedelete and then cried myself to sleep. Not really.

Bye, y’all!

Wearing: Sweater: Cotton On. Tee: Urumtees. Shorts: old. Shoes: Vans. Holding a popsicle.

One thought on “Oh, I didn’t die- I should be satisfied

  1. Hey you!

    Fashion design class. SOUNDS GOOD. I like what you made. I want to make my own clothing too but I’m disasterous when you give me a sewing machine and I don’t think making a whole dress wil be completed with only a needle and some thread.

Whenever I get a comment, I become as happy as a lark blowing bubbles in the dark.

