Interview with THE FASHION TURD!

 Turd is the word.

Hey people! Guess what? I scored an interview with a fellow fashion blogger who has been blogging a lot longer than I have. You might know here as Holly or The Fashion Turd. It’s this really awesome blog by someone who makes their own jewelry, dresses like “Japanese doll/9-year-old boy” and has bright red dreadlocks. Drrruuummmroollll please. Heeere’s Johnny!

1. Why did you start blogging?
I used to get stopped quite a bit in the street with people asking to take pictures or to comment on what i wore. Most of it was very positive (…i say most, a few calls of ‘freak’ or ‘goth’ from some ultra Jurassic retards), so i thought a blog would be really productive outlet for all the stuff floating in my head which eventually ends up in what i wear. I don’t take it too seriously, my blog is very tongue in cheek and i realize that I come across as a right narcissistic bastard (which i am), but it’s all having a laugh and not taking it too seriously…After all it’s just clothes!
2. Do you admire any brands or designers specifically?
I am a walking spew-up of high street, second hand, and market clothes with a few special pieces which cost more $$$!  In terms of real grown up designers i admire Rei Kawakubo, Alexander Mqueen, Bernhard Willhelm, Zandra Rhodes..i cant really remember anymore..in fact im not that into fashion as a concept and dictating what is ‘hot to wear’ this season (vomit)…i  just like the things that bring a smile to my gloomy face!
3. What music do you like?
mmmmm music…..putting on big earphones and listening to my tunes is complete sanctuary: Bjork, Lamb, Peaches, Hercules and Love Affair, Kap Bambino, Devendra Banhart, Kate Bush, Bob Marley, Daniel Johnston, Belle and Sebastien, Beirut, Kimya Dawson, Moldy Peaches, Joan as Policewoman, Ani Di Franco, Antony and the Johnsons, coco rosie, Nick Drake,  Joanna Newsom…mainly trip hop, folk and anti folk
4. What did you eat so far today?
Oooohh, well im staying with my family at the moment so i get to eat like jabba the hutt for a few days…so here goes..cup of tea, My 10 year old brothers chocolate flavoured cereal, cup of tea, cup of tea, those MSG laden round potato chips that come in a long tube, cup of tea, a parma ham salad, some ‘Hello Panda’ cookies, traditional British roast dinner with pork, apple sauce and all the trimmings, some Japanese jelly candy, cup of tea, some roast potatoes left from dinner..i will probably have another cup of tea before bed too…i don’t conform to many stereotypes but the British Tea drinking cliche is definately a box that i tick
5. How would you describe your style?
My brain wrapped around my body…colourful, ecclectic, spotty, stripey, kitsch,youthful, plasticy, sarcastic, energetic, tactile, tongue-in-cheek, vomit inducing!
6. What are you thinking when you get dressed in the morning/um, whenever? Do things inspire your outfits or do you just create them?
I  just cover myself in glue, walk into my wardrobe and whatever sticks to me i wear!…. not entirely true…i’m certainly inspired by things everyday, but i just put pieces together that i think work and that make me feel like a goddess. The general rule is not to put stuff together that ‘matches’..i like mixing colours, textures and prints to the extreme. I’m also really inspired by Japanese street fashion, the 70’s and 80’s, graphic novels, religous iconography and Pat Butcher.
7. Where do you get most of your clothes? Do you make any of them?
I get my clothes from the high st, charity shops, markets, friends, bins…I customize a lot of stuff but im not a seamstress so dont attempt to make full on garments, i can just about handle a glue gun! But i do make my own jewellery, the line is called House of Turd and is available to buy here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheFashionTurd?ref=pr_shop_more  …shameless plug..sorry!
8. Who is your favorite person who ever lived?
Ooohh, all of my real favourite people are still alive…gorgeous family and delicious friends…and my truly incredible Mrs who inspires me more than she will ever, ever realize. I also have a bit of a Bjork obsession. And Tank Girl is my favourite fictional person.
9. Do you try to stand out with the way you dress, or does it come naturally because you just wear what you like and it happens to be unique?
I just wear what makes me feel bloody brilliant.  Some people ask me if i feel self-conscious at all in what i wear and my answer is a definite ‘no’!; i would feel more self conscious wearing head to toe black or a pair of jeans and a hoodie because that would just not be me. Maybe my style will change over time, but hopefully i will always want to dress like a japanese doll/9 year old boy!
10. What is your favorite article of clothing?
ooooooooh. Ruby, what a toughy…ooooohhh….my polka dot Dr Martens.
You should really check out her blog! It’s here, at www.thefashionturd.com . I love it. Just be sure to wear your sunglasses before you try to look at her clothes! But once you do, they’re awesome! By the way… those Docs she was referring to? I have the same ones, but black with white instead of vice versa! Yes, I have verified fashion sense! I hope you check out her blog and actually COMMENT. Please.
Whenever I get a comment, I become as happy as a lark blowing bubbles in the dark.

