Does ”pastel + bright = KABOOM” ?

I was trolling around on Yahoo Answers today and I came across a question, “How can I be more girly?” I always will disagree with people trying to change themselves to fall under a certain category or stereotype, but this question was actually very interesting. It specifically asked for things to wear to be a girly-girl.

The answers were mixed. Lots said to wear flashy colors like hot pink with angular, “80s-like clothing”, and some also said you should wear soft, light colors, like pastels, with lots of frilly floral things. I decided to put each to the test, and the two styles looked equally girlish. To be the ultimate  pink-barbie-vomit girl, I realized you had to combine the two classics to become the Super Queen of the Girly-Girls. I put this challenge to a test first with a still-life containing my glasses case, some ribbon from the art cabinet, an old plastic bracelet from my child years, some bright lipstick, and a bubblegum wrapper. Here it is:

Not the most artistic photo I’ve ever taken, unfortunately, but you get the idea. So, with those elements, I dove into my wardrobe and pulled out the outfit below. It’s actually more pastel than the flashy bright stuff, but it’s still something. That cardi is my best friend! It has lasted forever and it’s soooo pretty! And today I’m not wearing my owl pendant, I’m wearing, well, a DIFFERENT owl pendant. This one is shinier and it has cute little jewels on its eyes and feathers. And it’s hanging on a metal chain instead of string. Weeeiiirrdd.  I did a close-up below the main outfit picture so you can see my lipstick, shirt detail and necklace. It’s at the top of this post. Sorry for the sad/angry/tired expression on my face.

EXPERIMENT:  Try combining the two main “girly” trademark looks. Challenge accepted.

HYPOTHESIS: I will end up with a totally failed outfit that looks like a pony barfed.

RESULT: Everything went better than expected. Still not enough brightness to totally balance the look, though.

Skirt: really a cotton-on dress. Shirt: mom's vintage Orla Keily. Belt: reeeaally old from my mom. Cardi: Agnes B.

Whenever I get a comment, I become as happy as a lark blowing bubbles in the dark.

